IWPA logo

Illinois Woman’s Press Association
Chicago, Illinois

Chicago – May 3, 2019– The Illinois Woman’s Press Association (IWPA), an affiliate of the National Federation of Press Women (NFPW), honors the best student journalists, writers and communicators in the state with the annual Illinois High School Communications Contest.  

Students enter their best work published or broadcast through high school outlets in any of the 23 categories including: writing, photography and design, broadcasting, and video. Types of publications include, but are not limited to, newspapers or literary magazines in print or online, blogs, radio or television broadcasts, videos, and yearbooks.

Each state’s 1st place category winners moved on to compete in NFPW National Communications Contest. This year 14 Illinois entries placed in the National Contest.

“We are so proud of our high school contest winners! They proved that they are among the best student communicators in the country,” said Illinois Woman’s Press Association President Cora Weisenberger. “Thanks to the dedication of the students, advisers and supportive parents, IWPA is becoming synonymous with excellence in high school journalism.” 

After hearing the good news, Mark Ciesielski (Homewood-Flossmoor; English Teacher), stated, “This contest is a great way for our students to really showcase their journalism skills in both writing and producing video and radio content. We look forward to the contest each year, as well as being recognized at the awards luncheon. The organization and contest are first class. 

Homewood-Flossmoor student, Kelly Van Etten (1st Place; Radio Prepared Report) let us know that while she’s “extremely honored to win, it’s amazing to get feedback from someone other than just my teachers.”  Judging and comments are handled by experts in the communications field. She also let us know it was “a great opportunity to

[compete] against people, not only my school or state, but the whole country.

The following list includes placement in NFPW’s National Communications Contest, followed by winner(s) name, entering high school and winning category: 

1st Place – Ojasvi Saxena and Emily Lu: Adlai Stevenson High – Sports Story; Kelly Van Etten: Homewood-Flossmoor High – Radio Prepared Report; Josey Bachus: Homewood-Flossmoor High – Video News Story 

2nd Place – Lars Lonnroth and Pilar Valdes: Lyons Township High – News Story; Kennedy Homan: Metea Valley High – Cartooning; Lars Lonnroth: Lyons Township High – Radio/Tele. Interview/ Talk Show; Jalen Robinson: Homewood-Flossmoor High – Video Sports Story 

3rd Place – Kennedy Homan: Metea Valley High – Graphics/Photo Illustration; Lars Lonnroth: Lyons Township High – Best Newscast: Radio or Tele.; Katrina Troy: Huntley High – Yearbook Layout; Kayla Yakimisky: Huntley High – Yearbook Copywriting 

Honorable Mention – Bradley Locker: Adlai Stevenson – Columns/Blogs; Wyatt Zwick: Niles West High – Reviews; Ivonne Sanchez: Maine West High – Environment 

IWPA congratulates these hardworking and talented students. We also thank their teachers and advisers for supporting our future communicators.