Outstanding communications entries from throughout the United States have won honors in the 2022 National Communications Contest sponsored by the National Federation of Press Women.

Nearly 300 professional communicators earned honors during the celebration at the 2022 NFPW Conference in Fargo, ND on June 25, 2022. Over 2,000 entries were submitted in this year’s contest. Winners in the contest first competed in contests within their state or in an at-large contest for states without contests. First-place winners in these contests advanced to the national contest.

Illinois winners include:

Marlene Cook, Illinois
Honorable Mention — Publication Regularly Written by Entrant, Newsletter, Nonprofit, government or educational 

Joshua Friedberg, Illinois
Second Place — Headlines
Honorable Mention — Columns, Personal Opinion
Honorable Mention — Essay, Section or Chapter in a Book 

Suzanne Hanney, Illinois
Second Place — Specialty Articles, Government or Politics
Honorable Mention — Feature Story, Magazine
Honorable Mention — Specialty Articles, History
Honorable Mention — Specialty Articles, Social Issues
Honorable Mention — Publication Regularly Edited by Entrant, Magazine 

Frank Hosek, Illinois
Honorable Mention — Specialty Articles, Travel 

Janis Johnston, Illinois
Honorable Mention — Web and Social Media, Blog, Nonprofit, government or educational 

Margot McMahon, Illinois
Third Place — Nonfiction Book for Adult Readers, Biography or History 

Janice Renee Newman, Illinois
Second Place — Radio and Television, Talk Show
Honorable Mention — Radio and Television, Interview
Honorable Mention — Social Media Presence, Nonprofit, government or educational 

Ronit Rose, Illinois
Honorable Mention — Specialty Articles, Physical Health

Carrie Steinweg, Illinois
Second Place — Children’s Book, Fiction

Erin Sullivan, Illinois
Honorable Mention — Page Design, Magazine or magapaper

Pat Szpekowski, Illinois
Second Place — News Story, Magazine, newsletter/other print publication 

Michele Weldon, Illinois
First Place — Specialty Articles, Personal essay
Second Place — Speech
Third Place — Feature Story, Print-based newspaper 

Marianne Wolf-Astrauskas, Illinois
Third Place – Audiovisuals