National Federation of Press Women, Inc.
140B Purcellville Gateway Dr., Suite 120, Purcellville, VA 20132
(571) 295-5900 · ·

June 24, 2023

Media Contacts:
Teri Ehresman, NFPW National Contest Director (; 208-521-5171)
Cate Langley, NFPW Executive Director (; 571-295-5900)

More information:

A list of all winners:


The National Federation of Press Women ( announced the following 2023 Illinois award recipients at the NFPW Communications Contest Awards Banquet Saturday, June 24, 2024, during the organization’s annual Communications Conference in Cincinnati, Ohio.

Kathleen Aharoni
Third Place, In-depth Reporting

Katie Brandt
First place, Publication Regularly Edited by Entrant, Magazine/Magapaper
Second place, Specialty articles, Hobby
Honorable mention, Specialty articles, education

Erin Chan Ding
First place, Specialty articles, Physical health
Second place, Specialty articles, Business
Honorable mention, News Story, Online publication
Honorable mention, Feature Story, Print-based newspaper

Emily Coghlan
Third place, Public Service Program or Campaign

Lynne Conner
Third place, Specialty Articles, Religion

Susan Cosier
First place, Specialty articles, Food
Honorable mention, Specialty articles, Social issues

Elizabeth Dickey
Second place, Speech

Joshua Friedberg
Second place, Blog, Nonprofit, government or educational
Honorable mention, Headlines

Suzanne Hanney
Second place, Specialty Articles Green/environmental
Third place, Specialty Articles, Government or politics

Alexandria Jacobson
First place, Specialty Articles, Science or technology

Melanie Kalmer
Honorable mention, Feature Story
Magazine, newsletter/other publication

Janice Renee Newman
Second place, Talk Show, Television
Second place, Interview, Television
Third place, Special Programming, Television

Randy Richardson
First place, Essay, Chapter or Section in a Book

Wendy Rosen
Honorable mention, News Story, Magazine, newsletter/other print publication

Emilie Schulze
First place, Information for the Media, Media Pitch

Erin Sullivan
Honorable mention, Page Design, Magazine or magapaper

Marianne Wolf-Astrauskas
Honorable mention, Book Designed by Entrant

NFPW is a nationwide organization of women and men pursuing careers across the communications spectrum, including print and electronic journalism, freelancing, new media, books, public relations, marketing, graphic design, photography, advertising, radio and television.

Recipients from across the country were honored for excellence in communications during an awards ceremony in Cincinnati, Ohio. A distinguished group of professional journalists, communications specialists, and educators judged nearly 2,000 entries in a wide variety of categories. Only first-place winning entries at the state level are eligible to enter the national contest. All entries were published or broadcast between Jan. 1, 2022, and Dec. 31, 2022.