IWPA logo

Illinois Woman’s Press Association
Chicago, Illinois

Chicago – April 14, 2019 – The Illinois Woman’s Press Association (IWPA), an affiliate of the National Federation of Press Women (NFPW), honors the state’s best and brightest student communicators in announcing the 2019 winners of its High School Contest.

Students submitted work in 23 categories including: Editorial, News, Opinion, Features, Sports, Photos, Cartooning, Reviews, Graphics/ Photo Layout, Yearbook Layout, and Yearbook Photo. All 2018 entries were published, e-published, broadcast, or issued between February 1, 2018 and January 31, 2019.

Judges were chosen for their expertise and/or employment in the evaluated category fields. They’ve supported these budding young communicators by providing invaluable content and entry feedback.

Each state winner of 1st, 2nd, 3rd or Honorable Mention in a category will receive a certificate, with 1st place winners going on to compete in the NFPW’s annual contest. Judging takes place late this spring.

1st Place winners include: Adlai Stevenson High School – Ojasvi Saxena, Emily Lu, Bradley Locker; Homewood-Flossmoor High School –  Kelly VanEtten, Josey Bachus, Lilly Donkel, Caroline Johnson, Jalen Robinson: Huntley High School – Ayman Mirkhan, Katrina Troy, Evan Pilat, Kayla Yakimisky; Kaneland High School – Madeline Hockey, Richies Tiv; Lyons Township High School – Lars Lonnroth, Pilar Valdes;  Main West High School – Monroe Torkelson, Sarah Smail, Ivonne Sanchez; Metea Valley High School – WeKennedy Homan; Niles West High School – Wyatt Zwik;

IWPA wishes these talented students luck in the national competition.

In addition the school with the most 1st Place state wins is presented with the Silver Pen Award. The winner this year is Homewood-Flossmoor High School in Flossmoor, Illinois. Homewood-Flossmoor  will be presented this honor at the 78th Annual Mate E. Palmer Communications Luncheon on Saturday, May 11, 2019