IWPA logo

Illinois Woman’s Press Association
P.O. Box 180150, Chicago, Illinois  60618

Chicago – April 18, 2017– The Illinois Woman’s Press Association (IWPA), an affiliate of the National Federation of Press Women (NFPW), honors the state’s best and brightest high school student communicators in announcing the 2017 winners of its High School Contest.

Students submitted work in 23 categories including: Editorial, News, Opinion, Features, Sports, Photos, Cartooning, Reviews, Graphics/ Photo Layout, Yearbook Layout, and Yearbook Photo. All 2017 entries were published, e-published, broadcast, or issued between February 1, 2016 and January 31, 2017.

Judges were chosen for their expertise and/or employment in the evaluated category fields. They’ve supported these budding young communicators by providing invaluable comment and entry feedback.

Each state winner of 1st, 2nd, 3rd or Honorable Mention in a category will receive a certificate, with 1st place winners going on to compete in the NFPW’s annual contest. Judging takes place late this spring.

1st Place winners include: Homewood-Flossmoor High School – Shane Hogan, Anna Lane, Liam O’Connor and Samantha Klupchak; Huntley High School – Sarah Biernat, Alex Landman, and Natalie Trzeciak; Kaneland High School – Jessica Tiv, Bella Vargas, Caitlyn Rawers, Ava Mandele, and Ashley Edwards; Libertyville High School – Ashley Edwards; Maine West High School – Sanha Lim and Anita Jasinska; Mother McAuley Liberal Arts High School – Kristyna Kresic and Angelica Cant; St. Viator High School – Kenneth Yi.

IWPA wishes these talented students luck in the national competition.

In addition the school with the most 1st Place state wins is presented with the Silver Pen Award. The winner this year is Kaneland High School in Maple Park, IL. Kaneland will be presented this honor at the 76th Annual Mate E. Palmer Communications Luncheon on Saturday, May 13, 2017.

For more information, contact Cora Weisenberger, High Contest Chair, at iwpa1885@gmail.com.